Reviews

Nivea 2-in-1 Moisturizing Primer VS After Shave Balm

Judy's iPhone 2017-07-08 1426

Remember a year ago when NikkieTutorials made that amazing discovery: using the Nivea Men’s Sensitive Skin After Shave Balm as a primer? Everyone in the beauty community was shaken up by this discovery! Even I tried it and it definitely worked out well for me. Well it looks like Nivea is living off that hype by creating a new product, this time actually marketed as a primer. They’ve created the 2-in-1 Moisturizing Primer in two different versions: one for normal skin and one for dry and sensitive skin. I bought the one for dry and sensitive skin since my skin needs all the help it can get.

Instead of just doing a first impressions on the new 2-in-1 Moisturizing primer, I was more interested in how the two products compared with each other, so I decided do a half-and-half face comparison of both the After Shave Balm and Primer.

But first, some info on the products:

The Sensitive Skin After Shave Balm was never marketed as a primer, but NikkieTutorials claims that the glycerin in the product helps product adhere to the face. It is enriched with chamomile and Vitamin E. One bottle of the After Shave Balm comes with 100 mL of product. Nivea claims that the formula of the After Shave Balm will:

  • Provide an instant soothing feeling
  • Improve skin’s defense through moisturization
  • Alleviate redness due to dry skin

On the other hand, the new 2-in-1 Moisturizing Primer only comes with only 50 mL of product per container. Nivea claims that the formula is supposed to give you “stunning, even-looking skin” and claims to:

  • Be quick absorbing and feel light and wonderfully soft
  • Have an innovative gel-cream texture
  • Be enriched with natural almond oil and soothing calendula extract

Application:

Consistency-wise, the After Shave Balm is a lot more runny than the 2-in-1 primer which has more of a gel texture. The After Shave Balm also has a much stronger scent that lingers even after application. I wouldn’t say that I’m particularly sensitive to scents, but the After Shave Balm started to bother me. I’m glad they dialed back the scent for the new primer.

When rubbed into the skin, the After Shave Balm is more tacky than the 2-in-1 Primer, but the 2-in-1 Primer felt more moisturizing. Both absorbed equally as quickly into the skin. I have a lot of redness and dry patches around my face because of my eczema, but I don’t think that either product gave me more even-looking skin.

Wear & Longevity:

Judy's iPhone 2017-07-08 1442

I applied my makeup at 9 AM and wore it for a full day until 8 PM (11 hours). During the day, I was out and about doing some shopping and errands here and there. It wasn’t too hot that day, but I did sweat a bit. On the left is the new 2-in-1 Moisturizing Primer and on the right is the After Shave Balm.

3 PM Checkin:

Judy's iPhone 2017-07-08 1466

It’s hard to tell in the photo check in, but in person, the 2-in-1 primer side (left) was noticeably more shiny/oily in the T-zone area, than the After Shave side. I really wanted to blot and powder, but I decided against it for the purposes of this wear test.

You can also see that the foundation and concealer under my eye on the 2-in-1 Primer side had broken up, creased and caked up really badly. I know it wasn’t my foundation, concealer or powder that was doing this because I used all of my regular trusted products. Even though it looked bad, I tanked through it for this comparison.

The Nivea After Shave side (right) was holding up just fine.

8 PM Checkin:

Judy's iPhone 2017-07-08 1486

At this point it’s been 11 hours since I put on all of my makeup and it seems like the Nivea 2-in-1 Primer just gave up. I don’t know what about my eye area that the primer doesn’t like but it really wasn’t having it. The breakup of product under my eyes had gotten worse since my last check in, plus some of the product just below had started to bunch and gather, making me look so cakey. On the bright side, it didn’t seem like I had gotten any more oily in the T-zone, which I am grateful for (but keep in mind, I have extremely dry skin).

In comparison, the After Shave Balm side looked fine- almost the same as it did during the last check in. I started to notice a little bit of shininess in the T-zone area, but not so much that I would need to blot immediately. If my full face looked the way this side did, I wouldn’t mind keeping my makeup on for a little longer, but I honestly couldn’t deal with breakdown on the other side of my face.

Verdict:

I really feel like Nivea missed the mark with this primer.  Though it didn’t claim to be long lasting, I was really disappointed with the fact that it broke down halfway through my day. I had some really high hopes for it because of the success of the After Shave Balm as a primer, but was really let down by the results. I’m curious whether or not the version of this primer for Normal skin performs any better than the one I tested here for dry and sensitive skin.

Have you tried or are looking to try any of Nivea’s new moisturizing primers? I would love to hear what you think about them and if they worked for you.

2 thoughts on “Nivea 2-in-1 Moisturizing Primer VS After Shave Balm

  1. That’s disappointing. I was really hoping that Nivea’s new product would have yielded more positive results. Hopefully it’ll only improve from here on ! Great comparison, I felt it was more enjoyable to read than a standard review

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

